George Dale elected to PERS Board of Trustees

April 26, 2017

George Dale, former Mississippi commissioner of insurance, has been elected as a new retiree representative on the Public Employees’ Retirement System of Mississippi (PERS) Board of Trustees.

“Mr. Dale brings decades of public service and a wealth of knowledge with him to the Board,” said Pat Robertson, PERS executive director. “I look forward to working with him.”

At its April 25 meeting, the Board certified the results of the runoff election between Dale and Dr. Philip Pepper, former Mississippi state economist.

Dale’s term will run from May 1, 2017, to April 30, 2023. He is filling the retiree representative position held by his predecessor, Dr. Richard C. Miller, who is retiring from the Board April 30 after nearly 22 years of service.

The 10-member PERS Board includes the state Treasurer, a gubernatorial appointee who is a member of PERS, two retirees, two state employees, and one representative each of public schools and community colleges, institutions of higher learning, counties, and municipalities. With the exception of the state treasurer and the gubernatorial appointee, board members are elected to staggered six-year terms.

For more information about PERS, visit