

Officer/Director Nominations

Officer Nominees *

Terms to expire July 31, 2019

President Ann Thames – current term as vice president expires July 31, 2017

Vice President Ed LeGrand – current term as multi-year director set to expire July 31, 2019

Secretary Bob Rhoads – *current term as secretary expires July 31, 2017*Treasurer Mike Lightsey – *current term as treasurer expires July 31, 2017*

Multi-year Director Nominees *

Terms to expire July 31, 2020

Ronnie Bell – *new*Margo Bowers – *current term as multi-year director expires July 31, 2017*Olin Lewis – *new*Dale Sullivan – *current term as multi-year director expires July 31, 2017*

Nominating Committee:

Chair Howell Garner
Tony Byrne
Robert McNeil
Dale Sullivan
Curt Thompson

New district director appointed for District 4

At its April 10, 2017, meeting, the MRPEA Board of Directors approved the appointment of Joe Johnson as district director for District 4 (Hinds, Madison, and Rankin counties). Joe replaces Hilda Westbrook who resigned from that post last year. Joe, who retired in 2013 after more than 40 years in education in Mississippi, was elected as a director in 2014 for a three-year term.

New district director appointed for District 8

At its July 10, 2017, meeting, the MRPEA Board of Directors approved the appointment of Dr. Keith Shaffer as district director for District 8 (Coahoma, DeSoto, Lafayette, Marshall, Panola, Quitman, Tallahatchie, Tate, Tunica, and Yalobusha counties). Keith replaces Thomas Toney who recently resigned from the post. Keith retired as South Panola School District superintendent in 2013 after nearly 30 years in education in Mississippi.

Mississippi Retired Public Employees' Association

^{*} Majority vote of those present and voting is required. Additional nominations are allowed from the floor.